Prof. Dr.

Politecnico di Milano, Italy and
EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

Inaugurated for:

his original development of mathematical and numerical multiscale models for the global circulatory system and of the integrated electro-fluid-mechanical model of the cardiac function

Short CV

Alfio Quarteroni is Professor and Director of MOX at the Politecnico of Milan (Italy) and professor emeritus at EPFL, Lausanne (Switzerland).

He is the founder (and first director) of MOX at Politecnico of Milan and MATHICSE at EPFL,

He is the author of 25 books, editor of 12 books, author of more than 300 papers published in international Scientific Journals and Conference Proceedings, member of the editorial board of 25 International Journals and Editor in Chief of two book series published by Springer.

Among his awards and honors we mention the NASA Group Achievement Award for the pioneering work in Computational Fluid Dynamics, the Premio Capo D'Orlando 2006, the Ghislieri prize, the International Galileo Galilei prize for Sciences, The Euler lecture.

He is the Recipient of two ERC Advanced Grants and of two ERC PoC (Proof of Concept) grants, Recipient of the Galileian Chair from the Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa, Italy, doctor Honoris Causa in Naval Engineering from University of Trieste, Italy, SIAM Fellow (first row), IACM (International Association of Computational Mechanics) Fellow. He is a member of the Italian Academy of Science, the European Academy of Science, the Academia Europaea, the IMU Circle, and the Lisbon Academy of Science.

His research interests concern Mathematical Modelling, Numerical Analysis, Scientific Computing, and Application to: fluid mechanics, geophysics, medicine and the improvement of sports performance. His research Group at EPFL has contributed to the preliminary design of Solar Impulse, the Swiss long-range experimental solar-powered aircraft project; his research group at EPFL has carried out the mathematical simulation for the optimisation of performances of the Alinghi yacht, the winner of two editions (2003 and 2007) of the America’s Cup.