Start September 18, 2012
End September 20, 2012
Venue address
Venue Details
Venue country London, UK - London

Integrative approaches to computational biomedicine

The Virtual Physiological Human Network of Excellence will hold the second of the series of VPH Conferences on 18th – 20th September 2012.

VPH2012: Integrative approaches to computational biomedicine.

The Virtual Physiological Human Initiative Scientific Sessions 2012

VPH2012 will be an international conference on computational biomedicine, with a clear focus on the integrative aspects of VPH. Special attention will be given to the 'Digital Patient' as well as 'health forecasts'. VPH2012 aims at reaching outside of the VPH community to other equally important communities: systems biology and genomics. In this respect, our vision is to have a conference that truly encompasses all possible scales to model physio/pathology with a clear ICT focus.

The second meeting will take place at the Savoy Place, set beside the Thames in London’s city centre, just minutes from the Strand. VPH2012 is supported by the European Commission ICT for Health / DG Information Society and Media. The Virtual Physiological Human Network of Excellence is an umbrella project representing the Virtual Physiological Human Initiative set up by the European Commission with a budget of ~ 207 million Euros for the Framework 7 Program.

Four parallel sessions will be held on all days with talks and dedicated poster sessions. Similar to the format of the VPH2010 – where after the meeting - the best VPH2010 papers and posters were published in Interface Focus in a special themed issue on the Virtual Physiological Human, we will again publish the best VPH2012 papers in Interface Focus. Interface Focus is a new spin off journal of the successful Royal Society Interface Journal.

VPH2010 Scientific Committee:

Peter Coveney, University College London (Chair)
Vanessa Diaz, University College London
Stephen Emmot, Microsoft Research Laboratory
Norbert Graf, University of Saarland
Peter Hunter, University of Auckland
Paul Kellam, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
Peter Kohl, University of Oxford
Ferran Sanz, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Jesper Tegner, Karolinska Institutet
Marco Viceconti, Istituto Ortopedico Rizzoli (EAMBES President)

Contact person
Contact mail