Search Fellows

Search by keyword

Filter by

Search for past fellows

EAMBES Fellows

Main » Fellows » Fellow Details

Jaakko Malmivuo

Founding Fellow // 2012

Aalto University, School of Electrical Engineering, Department Electrical Engineering and Automation, PO Box 13340, 00076 Aalto, Finland

Inaugurated for:

“In recognition of distinguished leadership and important contributions to research and advocacy of Medical and Biological Engineering & Science”

Short CV

Jaakko A. Malmivuo received the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from Helsinki University of Technology, Espoo, Finland, in 1971 and 1976, respectively. From 1974 to 1976 he served as researcher at Stanford University. In 1976 he was appointed as Associate Professor and in 1987-2010 Full Professor of Bioelectromagnetism at Tampere University of Technology (TUT), Tampere, Finland. Since 2010 till 2017 he was Professor Emeritus at Aalto University, Finland and since 2016 Visiting Professor at Technische Universität Berlin, Germany. From 1992 he has been Director of the Ragnar Granit Institute. 1994-2014 he was Chairman of the Board of the Ragnar Granit Foundation and since 2016 Chairman of the Board of the Ragnar Granit Society. He has served as Visiting Professor at Technische Universität Berlin (West) (1988), Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada (1989), Sophia University, Tokyo, Japan (1993), University of Barcelona, Spain (2006), the University of Aizu, Japan (2012) and Helmholtz Institute at RWTH University, Aachen, Germany (2014). He has over 600 publications and he has co written with Robert Plonsey, "Bioelectromagnetism", Oxford University Press, New York, 1995. Dr. Malmivuo was President of the Finnish Society for Medical Physics and Medical Engineering in 1987-1990. He is Founder Member and was President of the International Society for Bioelectromagnetism 1995-1999. He is founder of the International Journal of Bioelectromagnetism and was Editor in Chief 1999-2006. In 2003 he was appointed Fellow, International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering, in 2007 Fellow IEEE and from 2018 Life Fellow, in 2008 Honorary Member of the Finnish Society for Medical Physics and Medical Engineering and in 2012 Fellow European Alliance for Medical and Biological Engineering & Science.

Download Curriculum Vitae